Brushing off the cobwebs…

I’ve been very remiss lately, pressures of work and writing for another unrelated blog I’m afraid. But I’m not dead yet! For the time being have a look at this fascinating post over at Spooky Paradigm about the inextricable link between archaeology and museums (and any heritage site I think) and the paranormal.

It reminded me of some old notes I have on the subject of psychometry being done at a Scottish museum, so I’m planning to dust that off and write a post about it when I have a moment.

Tags: ,

2 Responses to “Brushing off the cobwebs…”

  1. Mark Edward Says:

    Excellent! My girlfriend’s (Susan Gerbic) sister is frequently caught up in this situation and I’m going to send it on to her.

    Right now she has the job of sitting in her car for endless days while a new highway is being dug up just in case some indian bones or shards of ancient pottery get uncovered. Not exactly Indiana Jones. As a huge Quatermass and M.R. James fan, I’ll pas this up my food chain.. In Magick,, Mark Edward

    Find Me Here: *”THE TRUTH!” *http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=asA2jqmPgVY *”Psychic BluesTrailer”* http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3csNRg_LFUk http://www.themarkedward.com http://www.skepticblog.org

  2. Facey Romford Says:

    What an interesting article. I can hear the shade of Edward Said muttering in the distance; isn’t a lot of this to do with ‘Orientalism’? Jonathan Oldbuck was a bit of a twit; archaeology started to become Gothic and sinister when it started mixing with the mysteries of the east, so the pattern was set at the high noon of British empire. It is interesting to compare the central Mcguffins of The Moonstone or The Sign of Four (or for that matter of The Green Eye of the Little Yellow God) with that of the ‘Mummy’ or ‘Indiana Jones’ films; ancient treasure (for all jewels are also antiquities), ancient crimes, the past reaching into the present, secret cadres of guardian priests- it’s all there.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

